Cut from the Same Cloth.

Intro

Basically in this blog, like I said at the beginning its just my opinion, of course backed with a few scholarly sources.

Any way lets get right into it.

I think in middle school I was first concisely introduced to music and song writing. I was also concisely introduced to English and creative writing as well, so it all kind of works out. I would have to say that the two go hand in hand. I have had the pleasure of being introduced to both of these cultures and what really happens behind the closed doors to the offices, apartments, coffee shops, show venues, workshops and open mic nights. Poetry/ short story readings and slams with the foot prints embedded in the dust on the tacky oriental rugs that stand as a foundation for the black microphone. Carrying words of great, yet anonymous, authors and poets. A lot of times words that won’t be heard or seen by the outside world. The splinters breaking off of a plywood stage that has held its fair share of weight, and not weight in pounds but the weight of over fifty plus, sweaty souls that sing together and chant words that have a different deep seeded meaning in each life those songs have touched. Singing in a microphone literally head to head with one of your favorite musicians. I encourage all to be a part of this fellowship.

There is a culture, a lifestyle, a bond that is instilled in you even from just one of these experiences. It is bigger than you and gives you a sense of belonging. These feelings and attitudes is where creative writing and musical composition meet. It isn’t just merely organizing words and notes, or drawing up characters and ideas. It is the moment when you realize you are a part of that. That is a part of what should be taught in our schools when using music or writing in the class room. How to deal with issues that everyone can or can’t relate to through writing and music, and the patterns for both, draw the same conclusion. It is all a form of art.

That is only some things that have to do with applying these two similar discourse communities into my life. When it came to music I was fascinated, when it came to an outlet through writing, I was astounded. Two positive things that I learned how to cope with my feelings growing up, and both things I learned about in the classroom. I’m not sure how it is taught now a days but when I was in school we had music class and had to put notes to poems we wrote for our English class. That was in seventh grade and that’s when I felt like I had an “I have arrived” moment, and I realized that’s what I wanted to do with the rest of my life.

I remember watching Jay-Z do an interview, and he said “there’s poetry in everything… there’s poetry in how someone does an interview, the way they deliver it, the words you choose, and how you set way to the next subject… so there’s poetry in everything if you look for it.”

Leave a Reply

